Episode #14 : Interview with Joshua Gillingham (Althingi: Saga Heroes) - History and Games Lab Podcast

50:00
 
Del
 

Manage episode 342384192 series 2939779
Av HandGLab oppdaget av Player FM og vårt samfunn — opphavsrett er eid av utgiveren, ikke Plaer FM, og lyd streames direkte fra deres servere. Trykk på Abonner knappen for å spore oppdateringer i Player FM, eller lim inn feed URLen til andre podcast apper.

In this episode, host Eduard Gafton is joined once more by Althingi designer Joshua Gillingham as he makes a triumphant return to the show and talks about the challenges of making and releasing the expansion Saga Heroes.

𝐓𝐢𝐦𝐞 𝐒𝐭𝐚𝐦𝐩𝐬

○ 00:00:00 - Intro

○ 00:06:03 - When did Joshua realise that Althingi was worth expanding on?

○ 00:22:39 - How much can we trust the sagas as historical sources?

○ 00:33:38 - Althingi as a trans-media, cross-projects endeavour

○ 00:39:21 - Joshua's advice for those wanting to get into game design

○ 00:47:00 - Outro

𝐌𝐞𝐧𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐞𝐝 𝐢𝐧 𝐭𝐡𝐢𝐬 𝐄𝐩𝐢𝐬𝐨𝐝𝐞

○ Althingi: Saga Heroes pre-launch page on Kickstarter: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/joshuagillingham/althingi-saga-heroes

○ Althingi: One Will Rise: https://outlandentertainment.com/work/althingi-one-will-rise/

○ Althingi: The Crescent & The Northern Star: https://outlandentertainment.com/work/althingi-the-crescent-and-the-northern-star/

○ The Gatewatch: https://www.crowsnestbooks.com/product/the-gatewatch/

○ The Everspring: https://www.crowsnestbooks.com/product/the-everspring/

○ Old Norse for Modern Times: https://outlandentertainment.com/work/vikingverse-old-norse-for-modern-times/

○ Ran’s Daughters by Kaitlin Felix: https://katifelix.com/announcement-althingi/

○ The Far Traveler by Nancy Marie Brown: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1631447.The_Far_Traveler?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=BsESHGt8d8&rank=1

○ The Saga of Heidrik the Wise - translated by Christopher Tolkien: https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/6583457-the-saga-of-king-heidrek-the-wise

○ Saga Thing Podcast: https://sagathing.podbean.com/

○ Return to Dark Tower: https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/256680/return-dark-tower

○ Jorvik Viking Museum: https://www.jorvikvikingcentre.co.uk/

○ Capital City Comic Con: https://capitalcitycomiccon.ca/

○ SHUX 2022: https://www.shutupandsitdown.com/shux22/

○ Find Joshua on his website: www.joshuagillingham.ca

○ Find Joshua on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JoshMGillingham

𝐂𝐨𝐧𝐭𝐚𝐜𝐭 𝐔𝐬

If you have any feedback or would like to get in touch for a potential podcast appearance, our DMs are open on Twitter @HandGLab or you can email us at historyandgamesstudentgroup@mlist.is.ed.ac.uk.

○ Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/handglab/

○ Facebook: History and Games Lab: https://www.facebook.com/historygamesedinburgh

○ Linktree: https://linktr.ee/HistoryandGamesLab

𝐂𝐨𝐩𝐲𝐫𝐢𝐠𝐡𝐭 𝐃𝐢𝐬𝐜𝐥𝐚𝐢𝐦𝐞𝐫

Intro/Outro Music: Call to Adventure by Kevin MacLeod

Link: https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Kevin_MacLeod/~/Call_to_Adventure

License: https://filmmusic.io/standard-licensee

14 episoder